Candidate for Women’s NVP: Linda Delaney

A message from Linda Delaney, candidate for NVP for Women (French follows the English):

Hello friends,

I have been nominated for the position of National Vice President (NVP) for Women. I would like your support and will commit to being a strong and inclusive representative.

The women’s movement has been strong and proud. It has taken on issues that have benefited all. We need to stand up and be “loud and proud” in all national and local forums. I am willing and able to be that voice on your behalf at our National Executive committee.

I have a no-nonsense approach and believe in getting things done, not just talking, but doing. I am confident we can move our cause to the height that it deserves. This approach has been developed through personal experience. I was a victim of discrimination at one point in time; However, I wouldn’t accept that, I filed a Human Rights complaint and won my case at the Human Rights Commission. We all need to speak up when we see wrong doing.

I want to take action regarding affordable daycare and work to ensure that the employer has mental health first aiders in each and every branch. Violence in any form is unacceptable and we need to talk openly about it and keep fighting for equal pay for work of equal value.

As a leader in this union, I have won grievances related to Duty to Accommodate, Harassment and various cases regarding our Collective Agreement.

I have organized gatherings for our members to keep them informed, including a meeting with our bargaining team during negotiations and taking part in orientation sessions for new employees to inform them of their rights.

We need to work together and support one another; we need to uplift our sisters with positive actions that speak louder than words. This is my goal, to find ways to engage the women’s committees that will advance our collective cause and bring us equality.

I have the passion and the drive to get things done. I hope I can count on your support.

Thank you for your time,

Linda Delaney


 

Bonjour ami/es,

On m’a nominé pour la position de Vice-présidente Nationale Condition Féminine. Je fais appel à votre support en vous promettant d’être une représentante inclusive et forte.

Le mouvement des femmes a affronté et réglé des questions qui ont causé des conséquences positives pour tous. Nous devons nous démarquer fières et fortes sur une base nationale autant que local. Je suis non seulement capable d’être cette voix qui parlera en notre nom au Comité Exécutif National, je le veux.

Mon approche est directe car je crois qu’il faut non seulement discuter, il faut agir. Je suis confiante que nous pouvons faire avancer notre cause jusqu’où elle le mérite. Mon expérience personnelle avec la discrimination a forgée mon attitude fonceuse. J’ai été congédié parce que je suis une femme. Je n’ai cependant pas accepté cette injustice et j’ai fait une plainte avec les Droits de la personne. J’ai gagné ma cause. Nous devons dénoncer toutes injustices témoignées.

Je veux prendre des mesures par rapport à des services de gardes accessibles à couts raisonnables. Il nous est aussi nécessaire de veiller à la santé mentale de nos collègues. Chaque département a besoin d’un professionnel de la santé mentale disponible pour venir en aide aux gens qui en ont besoin. Toutes formes de violence est inacceptable et ne sera toléré. Nous avons besoin de parler ouvertement des problèmes de violence et agressivité. Et ce, tout en se battant pour un salaire juste pour un travail a valeur égal.

Comme leader du syndicat, j’ai gagnée plusieurs griefs en relation avec l’Obligation d’accommodations, le Harcèlements et différents cas qui concernent notre Convention Collective. J’ai organisé des rencontres informatives pour nos membres incluant une réunion avec notre équipe de négociations durant les négociations. J’ai participé à des sessions d’orientation pour les nouveaux/elles employé/es les informant de tous leurs droits en tant que membre de ce syndicat.

Nous devons nous unir, travailler ensemble et se supporter les unes et les autres. Il faut soulever nos sœurs avec des agir positifs qui résonnent plus fort que les mots. Mon but est de trouver de nouvelles façons pour encourager le comité des femmes et pousser notre cause commune jusqu’a qu’on atteigne l’égalité.

J’ai la passion et la volonté pour passer à l’action. Je souhaite pouvoir compter sur votre appui.

Merci pour votre temps,

Linda Delaney

